Welcome

Many people spend so much time thinking and finding the right business idea; one that triggers your adrenaline, makes you dream of it on a daily basis and one that you can never stop thinking about.  This is a tough journey and a lot of ideas do not turn out the way you envision.  An idea needs to evolve over time through numerous feedbacks to be successful.  Therefore, an idea is a good start but execution is key.  According to Tim Ferriss, the best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek as well as an angel investor, an entrepreneur and a TechStar mentor, he mentioned that “One can steal ideas, but no one can steal execution of passion” in his article “Trust Me, Your Idea Is Worthless”.  I sincerely believe in that statement.

I recently graduated with an undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering.  During my four years of college, I managed to meet a team of people to turn an idea into a product (Dentural – an all-natural denture adhesive), participated in numerous business plan competitions, was honored to meet a number of entrepreneurs and people who is very passionate about what they are doing.

Through this process, I have noticed that the toughest thing to do was to start working on an idea.  It is very challenging and can be a frustrating and painful process.  On top of that, there are always doubts on whether an idea is good or not or the question, “What should I do next?”.  This blog serves to do two things:

1. Openly share ideas in hopes to seek feedback/advice

2. Provide support to projects in need of people with other skills (i.e. marketing, financial, developers)

3. My thoughts, networking experience and other correlation that I came up with

In order to do so, my goal for this blog is to foster an atmosphere of community and involvements.  I would really appreciate comments, disagreements or constructive criticisms from visitors.

Feel free to contact me at alvinang@alumni.purdue.edu or follow me on twitter (@alvinang) for any questions/comments/thoughts/ideas that you would like to share with me.  I really appreciate your time reading this blog and look forward to hear more from you soon.

One thought on “Welcome

  1. Much agreed! Especially in the collegiate scene, almost everyone has some great idea – but far too few have the initiative to start creating. The most common excuses are the most frustrating for me to hear. “oh we found another start up that does something remotly similar.” or the most laughable imo: “I’ve got this great idea but I need to find a lawyer so I can get an NDA and have you sign it before I can tell you about this great idea so it doesn’t get stolen.” Far too often people create these massive barriers in their mind, when really, they just need to get out there and start creating!

    Keep up the blogging!

Leave a Reply

